Sparks & Wiry Cries - Song Slam Songbook: Vol. 1 (ISBN: 9781949614077)

Sparks & Wiry Cries - Song Slam Songbook: Vol. 1
Model# ISBN: 9781949614077

Price: $16.99

Notify Me About This Item

Email a Friend

Add to Wishlist

Print Brochure

Share This Product

More Information


Curated by Martha Guth and Erika Switzer

The Sparks & Wiry Cries NYC songSLAM is a unique competition for emerging composer/performer teams to premiere new art song. With an eye to the democratic process and equality of access, sign-up is first come, first served, and the registration fee is nominal. During the competition itself, carried out in the poetry-slam tradition, audience members vote on their favorite performances. Cash prizes are awarded.

First premiered in NYC in 2015, the songSLAM has now been or will be presented in four countries and 10 different cities around the globe: NYC, Toronto, Vancouver, London, Ljubljana, Ann Arbor, Cincinnati, Chicago, Minneapolis, and Buffalo, with even more growth on the horizon. The songbook is a selection of sixteen of the most promising songs premiered since its inception. Many of them were prize winners, though not all.


 New American Art Song 21st Century Classical Vocal Reprints NATS Texoma Women Men Composers Voice Song Cycle


Songs in this volume

Composer Song Title Author of Text Year Composed
Daniel Castellanos Nothing at all Henry-Scott Holland 2019
Abigail de Niverville Stars Marjorie Pickthall 2018
Natalie Draper O sea starved Hungry Sea William Shakespeare 2017
Whitney George In New York Johnny Call 2017
Wally Gunn One good life Maria Zajkowski 2017
Meg Huskin Tikka Masala Meg Huskin 2019
Felix Jarrar Walking past a window… Bea Goodwin 2017
Laurence Jobidon Al Claro de Luna Delmira Agustini 2018
Isaac Lovedahl Today there is a spring in me Isaac Lovdahl 2018
Liam Moore Crepuscule E. E. Cummings 2017
Haley Olsen at this time I could not breathe like the others Haley Olsen 2017
Nathan Scalise Big Sky co-written by Jordan Bowman, Madelein Bowman, and Nathan Scalise 2018-2019
Tilen Slakan Ko te ni (When you are not here) Jakob Barbo 2019
Evan L. Snider Invictus William Ernest Henley 2017
Dennis Tobenski Oh HELL No Maggie Smith 2017
Jason Weisinger I carry your heart E.E. Cummings 2016


Perusal Score

Can you believe it? No one has said anything about this product. Please feel free to leave a review about a product you have tried.

Customers Also Purchased