Saxophone Concerto: Soprano Saxophone and Piano (HL-48024759)

Saxophone Concerto: Soprano Saxophone and Piano
Model# HL-48024759
UPC 888680962524

List Price: $60.00

Price: $54.00

Save Up To: $6.00 (10%)

Add to Wishlist

Email a Friend

Print Brochure

Share This

Scored for soprano saxophone and string orchestra, the composer states that this short concerto is based on archetypes of Scottish traditional music. The first movement, March, Strathspey and Reel, follows the pattern of a medley of fast dance forms, each sectionbecoming faster and faster. The second movement loosely follows the practice of singing Gaelic psalmody in the Scottish western isles, where a cantor (in this case the saxophone soloist) leads with a melodic line, to be followed by the congregation (the stringorchestra) who weave a heterophonic texture out of the canonic flow of parts. The last movement is based on the simple compound rhythm of the jig, marked 'giocoso'.

A major addition to the concertante saxophone repertory, the work was first performed in 2018 at Perth Concert Hall, Scotland, by Amy Dickson and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Joseph Swensen.
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Publication Date: 06/2019
Medium: Softcover
Pages: 48
Length: 12.00 in.
Width: 9.00 in.
Series: Boosey & Hawkes Chamber Music
ISBN: 1784545333

Can you believe it? No one has said anything about this product. Please feel free to leave a review about a product you have tried.