Apollo e Dafne (La terra e liberata) BA4104-90 (BA4104-90)

Apollo e Dafne (La terra e liberata) BA4104-90
Model# BA4104-90

Price: $15.95

Add to Wishlist

Email a Friend

Print Brochure

Share This


Composer: G. F. Handel

Title: Apollo e Dafne

Keyboard reduction: Christopher Sokolowski


The episode from Ovid‘s “Metamorphoses” in which Daphne attempts to escape Apollo’s advances by turning into a laurel tree, causing the devastated god to weave a laurel crown in memory of the nymph, has inspired the masterworks of many artists. Gian Lorenzo Bernini, whose famous marble sculpture is housed in the Galleria Borghese in Rome, is only one example of this. Many composers set this myth to music including young George Frideric Handel with his grand-scale dramatic cantata “Apollo e Dafne”. The composer started working on the work shortly before leaving Italy in 1709, most likely finishing it the following year in Hanover.

Bärenreiter now presents a vocal score of the opera-like cantata, the highlights of which include Dafne’s aria “Felicissima quest’alma” (accompanied by solo oboe) and Apollo’s famous lament “Cara pianta”.

This Urtext edition is based on the “Halle Handel Edition”, offering a Foreword (Ger/Eng) as well as literal translations into German and English.



Edition no.:
BA 4104-90
Composer / Author:
Händel, Georg Friedrich
Apollo e Dafne ("La terra è liberata") HWV 122
Detailed instrumentation:
Soprano solo, Bass solo, Flute, Oboe (2), 1. Violin (Violin solo), 2. Violin, Viola, Violoncello solo, Basses (Violoncello, Double bass, Bassoon, Harpsichord)
Sokolowski, Christopher
Marx, Hans Joachim
Foreword / Introduction:
Marx, Hans Joachim
Product format:
Vocal Score, Urtext edition
Language(s) of work:
Language(s) of text:
German, English
Duration (approx.):
Print run:
1st printing 2020
Pages / Format
XIII, 48 S. - 27,0 x 19,0 cm
192 g

Can you believe it? No one has said anything about this product. Please feel free to leave a review about a product you have tried.