Classical Vocal Reprints
2701 S. Van Hoose Drive
Fayetteville, AR 72701-9148
Classical Vocal Reprints
Silent Night (Vocalise for Soprano and Cello)
Silent Night (Vocalise for Soprano and Cello) (3217)

Composer: Martin Hennessy (b. 1953)
Voice Type: HIGH Voice (Soprano) and Cello

Duration is 4:55.

The passionate Japanese soprano, Tomoko Shibata, commissioned me to compose a piece for voice and cello for her Christmas Eve concert that year. Raised as a Buddhist she sought to transform the meaning of Silent Night so that it would embrace a universal sense of expectancy resisting any one religious belief. She talked about the “moment when all people allow the quiet place within.” She talked of a silent strength that cries out from the courage of the heart. Silent Night was premiered on December 24, 1997 at Oji Hall in Tokyo with Tomoko and cellist, Susumu Miyake. Heidi Skok and cellist, Joachim Woitun, performed the American premier at St. Bart’s Chapel, Park Avenue, on November 15, 1998.



Maisie Light Publishing (ASCAP)

Selling Agent:

Classical Vocal Reprints


List Price: $10.00 Manufacturer: CLASSICAL VOCAL REPRINTS
Price: $10.00 (Save $0.00) Model Number: 3217

Scan this code with your phone to view this product online